About Frontier Telenet

Frontier Telenet (“Frontier”) is an independent intergovernmental entity created under Oregon Revised Statutes Chapter 190 (“ORS 190”). Authorized by the Oregon Public Utility Commission to provide telecommunications services in Oregon as a competitive provider, Frontier uses a combination of its own wireless (microwave) network assets and broadband circuits and facilities purchased at wholesale from other carriers to operate an advanced “middle-mile” telecommunications network covering over 4,000 square miles containing Oregon’s three least populated counties (total combined population of approximately 5,000).

Frontier uses its network to provide broadband transport, internet access communications, and interoperability analog/digital switching service to a four county 9-1-1 dispatch center and the multitude of multi-jurisdictional law enforcement and emergency services/fire agencies served through the dispatch center. In addition to serving the first responders community, Frontier Telenet also provides broadband transport and internet access to multiple school districts, local governments, rural health care clinics and other community-service institutions located in areas lacking in service altogether or where service is only available at rates that are cost-prohibitive.


Like all ORS 190 intergovernmental entities in Oregon, Frontier is governed and controlled by a Board of Directors (Board) appointed by, responsible to and acting on behalf of the units of local government that are parties to the intergovernmental agreement that created Frontier and governs its ongoing operations. Current parties to Frontier’s governance agreement (i.e., Frontier’s “members”) are Gilliam County, Sherman County and Wheeler County. Each County Court appoints one member of Frontier’s three member Board. Since no single member controls 50% or more of the voting rights of the Board, Frontier is recognized under Oregon law as being legally-distinct and independent from each of its members.
In 2019, Frontier’s Board of Directors consists of:
Wheeler County Judge Lynn Morley (Chair)
Sherman County Judge Joe Dabulskis (Vice-Chair)
Gilliam County Judge Elizabeth Farrar (Secretary/Treasurer)
As an Oregon public body, Frontier operates in compliance with all Oregon legal requirements with respect to providing public notice of Board meetings and allowing attendance by members of the public. Board meeting audio recordings, minutes and other records are made available for public inspection in accordance with Oregon public records laws.

Intergovernmental Agreement Creating Frontier Telenet
 (January 25, 2019 updated draft pending approval by the governing body of each Frontier Member.)
Bylaws (rev. January 25, 2019)